Golden Man Booker prize launched to find the best ever winner

UK’s leading prize for fiction to mark its 50th year by calling on star judges to winnow down previous honorees before a public vote on an overall victor

Pitting the likes of Hilary Mantel and Ian McEwan against Iris Murdoch and Kingsley Amis, the Man Booker prize has announced a one-off, “Golden” Man Booker prize that will see all 51 previous winners in competition to be named the best work of fiction of the last half-century.

The new award, announced on Friday as part of the literary prize’s 50th anniversary celebrations, will be judged by five judges and then voted for by the public. Each judge has been assigned a decade, from which they will select a best winner to create a “Golden Five” shortlist, which will be revealed at Hay literary festival on 26 May.

Continue reading...

Carnegie and Kate Greenaway medals reveal more diverse longlist after backlash

After the leading UK prizes for children’s books failed to nominate any authors of colour in 2017, this year highlights a broader range

A year after the Carnegie and Kate Greenaway medals were widely criticised by authors for their record on diversity, the UK’s oldest and most illustrious children’s book awards have announced a more diverse longlist for 2018, as it undergoes an independent review.

Related: All-white Carnegie medal longlist provokes anger from children's authors

Continue reading...

Publishers call on Man Booker prize to drop American authors

A letter from 30 industry figures is urging the award to reverse 2014’s inclusion of US authors, in order to avoid a ‘homogenised literary future’

Tensions over the decision to allow US authors to enter the Man Booker prize have flared up yet again, with 30 publishers signing a letter urging the prize organisers to reverse the change, or risk a “homogenised literary future”.

The letter, which was intended to be private and has been seen by the Guardian, argues that the rule change to allow any writer writing in English and published in the UK to enter has restricted the diversity of the prize and led to the domination of American authors since it came into effect in 2014. Previously, the prize only allowed citizens from Commonwealth countries and the Republic of Ireland to enter.

Continue reading...

Margaret Atwood says Handmaid’s Tale TV show profits went to MGM, not her

Author says she ‘did not have a negotiating position’, after selling the rights of her novel to MGM for a 1990 film, which the studio retained

Margaret Atwood, author of The Handmaid’s Tale, has revealed that profits from the hugely successful 2017 TV series of her novel did not go to her, after having sold on the rights for a film adaptation almost three decades ago.

Hulu’s recent TV series of The Handmaid’s Tale was a critical success, winning four Emmys and prompting a new mainstream appreciation for Atwood’s work, particularly her 1985 novel, a dystopian tale about a woman used as a breeding vessel in a puritan and misogynist America.

Continue reading...

Helen Dunmore wins Costa book of the year for Inside the Wave

Winning for her final poetry collection, written in the last weeks of her life, Dunmore is only the second posthumous winner in the literary prize’s history

The poet and author Helen Dunmore died in June 2017 but her words live on, with her final poetry collection, Inside the Wave, winning the Costa book of the year.

Expressly rewarding enjoyability, the Costa book awards are open only to writers in the UK and Ireland. There are five categories – novel, first novel, biography, poetry and children’s book – with the winner of each then vying for the overall £30,000 book of the year prize.

Continue reading...

Brave: Rose McGowan’s memoir details ‘rape’ by Harvey Weinstein

In the book, actor also recounts her fight against the ‘Hollywood machine’ and its misogyny

After years of publicly accusing Hollywood producer Harvey Weinstein of rape, the actor Rose McGowan has detailed the sexual assault she said occurred after their first meeting more than 20 years ago.

In her memoir Brave, published on 30 January worldwide, McGowan recalled first seeing Weinstein, whom she refers to only as “the Monster”, at a screening of her film Going All the Way during the 1997 Sundance film festival.

Continue reading...

David Walliams withdraws Presidents Club prize as shops pull his books

Children’s author apologises for hosting charity dinner after revelations of sexual harassment

The bestselling UK author David Walliams has withdrawn his lot at the Presidents Club charity auction – offering the chance to name a character in his next children’s book – after the sexual harassment scandal, as several bookshops announced their decision to pull his bestsellers from their shelves in response.

Attended by billionaires, politicians and businessmen, the Presidents Club fundraising dinner in London was widely condemned this week after the Financial Times published allegations about wide-scale groping and sexual harassment of hostesses employed at the men-only event.

Continue reading...