Revealing Sarah Gailey’s Debut Novel Magic for Liars

We’re excited to share the cover for Magic for Liars, a darkly enchanting debut novel from Hugo Award-winning author Sarah Gailey, author of the American Hippo novella duology.

Ivy Gamble was born without magic and never wanted it.

Ivy Gamble has an almost-sustainable career as a private investigator, and an empty apartment, and a slight drinking problem. She doesn’t in any way wish she was like Tabitha, her estranged, magically gifted twin sister.

Ivy Gamble is a liar.

Magic for Liars publishes June 2019 from Tor Books, in the tradition of SyFy’s The Magicians and perfect for fans of Megan Abbott, set at a private academy for mages hidden in modern-day Northern California.

Cover design by Will Staehle

Hugo Award winner and Campbell finalist Sarah Gailey came onto the scene in 2015 and has since become one of the sharpest, funniest voices in pop culture ...